Welcome to

Motuihe Island

Motuihe Island has beautiful native plants, birds and lizards, significant historic sites and fantastic recreation opportunities.

Experience

Experience an island which has been transformed from farmland to a home for kiwis, tuatara, geckos and other rare and endangered birds.

Explore

Motuihe Island has beautiful native plants, birds and lizards, significant historic sites and fantastic recreation opportunities.

Latest News 

Upcoming volunteer days

2017
15 January Sunday Public Planting Day
26 February Sunday Public Planting Day
12 March Sunday Public Planting Day
26 March Sunday Public Planting Day
9 April Sunday Public Planting Day
23 April Sunday Public Planting Day
7 May Sunday Public Planting Day
21 May Sunday Public Planting Day
4 June Sunday Public Planting Day
18 June Sunday Public Planting Day
2 July Sunday Public Planting Day
16 July Sunday Public Planting Day
30 July Sunday Public Planting Day
13 August Sunday Public Planting Day
27 August Sunday Public Planting Day
10 September Sunday Public Planting Day
24 September Sunday Public Planting Day
8 October Sunday Public Planting Day
5 November Sunday Public Planting Day
19 November Sunday Public Planting Day
3 December Sunday Public Planting Day
17 December Sunday Public Planting Day

    Read More

    Visit Motuihe Island

    Help restore one of the best conservation islands in Hauraki Gulf

    Individuals and groups welcome

    We welcome all ages and all abilities. Plant one or 50 native trees. No experience required. 

    Visitors and day trippers welcome

    Activities include:

    • Tree planting
    • Nursery activities
    • Seed collection
    • General conservation maintenance and activities
    Read More

    Sunday volunteer days

    See dates for our volunteer days on the first page of this website.

    Fullers Ferry departs Pier 4 at 9.15am and Motuihe Island at 3.30 pm

    Ferry tickets: $21.50 (volunteers). $28 (non volunteers) from the Fullers' ticket office at pier 1.

    Children $10.50

    Volunteers need a discount card, available from a Motuihe representative standing near Pier 1 Ticket office from 8.45am on the day

    Cancellations: Subject to weather - please ring 0800668844 after 7 am on the day to check for cancellations

    Read More

    Mid week volunteer days

    Motuihe Restoration Trust welcomes mid week corporate and school groups by arrangement.

    Email  Fiona Alexander at info@motuihe.org.nz for school groups

    Email Simon Sheen  at volunteermotuihe@gmail.com for corporate groups

    The following days are available for mid week trips:

    10 March 2017 Friday

    22 March 2017 Wednesday

    7 April 2017 Friday

    21 April 2017 Friday

    Read More

    Plan your visit

    Bookings for mid week trips and Sunday volunteer days are essential. Email info@motuihe.org.nz

    Motuihe is a dog-free and pest-free island.www.treasureislands.co.nz Help keep it that way by checking your bags for stowaways. 

    Motuihe Island Restoration Trust offers a BBQ with sausages, bread and tea/coffee at the plant nursery at 1.00pm on volunteer days.

    The BBQ is free for volunteers and $5 for non-volunteers. 

    Please bring your own lunch, snacks and drinks

    BBQ available for use by groups.

    Transport options

    Red Boats
    theredboats@xtra.co.nz
    0800redboats

     360 ferries
    307 8005

    Fullers ferries
    3679111 (ticket office)


    Sea Shuttles Water Taxi
    This service is combined with Motutapu and Rakino islands Friday night 5pm, Saturday morning 9am and returning Sunday evening at 5pm.
    Minimum number of 6passengers  per trip and they have the option of topping up a little to make the trip run.
    Their boat is parked on the plastic jetty in front of the Royal Akarana Yacht Club at Okahu Bay which is on Tamaki Drive, the next bay around from Mission Bay going towards the city. There is free parking behind the yacht club in the white spaces (as opposed to the yellow spaces).

    Price to Motuhihe is $25.00 per person one way or $45.00 return. They also offer a private charter for $175.00 each way for 8 to 10 passengers depending on amount of gear.
    Phone 021 779 371 for enquiries and bookings.

    Hauraki Express Water Taxi

    http://haurakiexpress.co.nz $40 one way and $70 return. Minimum of 5 people.

    Read More

    Experience an island which has been transformed from farmland to a home for kiwis, tuatara, geckos and other rare and endangered birds.

    Visitor facilities

    Motuihe Island offers sheltered moorings, toilets, camping and a summer kiosk selling ice creams and offering guided tours.

    Read More

    Camping

    A camping ground is available. Please visit the Department of Conservation website for more booking information and costs.

    Read More

    Mailing list

    News Flash

    Pacific gecko return to Hauraki Gulf’s Motuihe Island - The return of 54 Pacific gecko to Motuihe Island adds another successful translocation to the Motuihe Island story.

    Read More