The Trust has three subcommittees to carry out the operations of the Trust. The members of the subcommittees include trustees and specialist advisors.

- The Restoration subcommittee has responsibility for matters concerning plants and animals.

- The Recreation subcommittee has responsibility for matters concerning visitors, education and heritage.

- The Commercial subcommittee has responsibility for fund raising and commercial arrangements.

1. The Trustees meet monthly to govern the trusts activities. The trust is audited annually by KPMG.

2. Outboard Boating Club of Auckland Inc. provides the base facilities for meetings and other administrative purposes.

3. The trustees liaise and communicate with iwi, Department of Conservation, and other stakeholders.

The vision for Motuihe Island is to be a natural environment of native plants and animals as well as identified significant historic sites, offering a quality recreational, environmental and educational experience to visitors.

Visitors to the island will be able to see native birds in their native habitat, close to the white sandy beaches. Visitors will be encouraged to walk around the island and learn about conservation activities in the Hauraki Gulf.

The mission of the Motuihe Trust is to restore, enhance and protect the indigenous plants and animals and the significant historic sites of Motuihe Island. Representatives of various stakeholder groups are consulted about ecological and historical restoration. Members of the community will be provided with opportunities to participate in the restoration and maintenance of Motuihe Island. The Trust will promote the Island as a visitor destination for a recreational, conservation and educational experience, and will undertake commercial arrangements on the Island, which support the Trust’s vision, to ensure the ongoing financial viability of the Island.

Motuihe Trust is an incorporated charitable trust.



John Laurence

Deputy Chairman      

Steve Nelson

Secretary Michael Wood


Trevor Hughes


Matt Baber

Peter Barron

Stuart McIntosh

Photo pending

Mike Lee

Julie Thomson

Peter Whitmore